Silent installation

Voices won't install properly on your system?

Silent installation

Postby Komutel » Mon Dec 17, 2012 2:40 pm

Hi,
Is there a way to install a voice (Telephony 32 and 64 bits) silently (command line)?
If so, is that possible to add the license during the insallation?
Thank you!
Komutel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 2:38 pm

Re: Silent installation

Postby AdamW » Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:28 pm

Yes indeed.

From our FAQ: http://www.cepstral.com/support/faq/personal/windows.html

Alternatively, you can enter your license key using the command-line swift utility with the windows command prompt (located at "Start Menu" -> "Run" -> type "cmd" (or "command" in win9x) then hit Enter).

To register a voice using the swift executable, call swift with the '--reg-voice' switch. You will be prompted to enter your name, your company name, the name of the voice you wish to register, and then the license key.


swift --reg-voice



Your Name: John Q. Public

Company (if applicable): Acme Widgets

Voice: David

License Key: xx-xxxxxx-xxxxxx-xxxxxx-xxxxxx-xxxxxx

You will receive feedback regarding the validity of your entries. If the information is valid, the voice will no longer nag.


But you can also pass in parameters.

Code: Select all
       swift --reg-voice --customer-name "John Doe" --company-name
        "Initech" --voice-name David --license-key "XX-XXXXXX-
        XXXXXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX"


This is found in the help you can see this by running swift from the command line without any options.

Let us know if you have any other questions.

-- The Cepstral Support Team
User avatar
AdamW
Administrator
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:16 am

Re: Silent installation

Postby Komutel » Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:48 pm

It's ok for the license, but you did not answer my first question.
Can I install a voice silently (command line)?
Komutel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 2:38 pm

Re: Silent installation

Postby AdamW » Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:57 pm

Why do you want to run the installer silently? I mean yes you can usually use msiexec to run an installer from the command line, but it just brings up the usual cepstral installer GUI, so it is hardly silent.

Adam
The Cepstral Support Team
User avatar
AdamW
Administrator
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:16 am


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron