calling cepstral from php on os x

How-to questions and answers

calling cepstral from php on os x

Postby buggedcom » Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:38 am

I'm trying to call swift from php using exec on a mac os x machine, however it's not working. I've tried via the terminal and it works fine?

Any ideas? (It's still a trial)

The code I'm using from php is

Code: Select all
<?php

exec('/usr/bin/swift -n Callie -o /Users/ollie/Sites/dev/test.wav -m text', $output, $return)    ;
   echo '/usr/bin/swift -n Callie -o /Users/ollie/Sites/dev/test.wav -m text<br />';
echo $output.'<br />';
echo $return.'<br />';
      print_r($output);
echo '<br />';
      print_r($return);

?>     

which doesn;t produce anything, yet from the terminal it works fine

/usr/bin/swift -n Callie -o /Users/ollie/Sites/dev/test.wav -m text
Last edited by buggedcom on Wed May 30, 2007 7:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
buggedcom

Postby Alex » Tue May 15, 2007 9:28 am

Hello,

I'm no php expert, but it looks like there is no text being passed to the swift call?

-Alex
Alex

I have similar needs...please help.

Postby Varen » Wed May 23, 2007 6:22 pm

I'm considering several distribution licenses for a web site project I'm working on but I don't have the skill needed to make the (what seems to be) simple connection between a web page and the command line swift interface. I'm OK with PHP and a regular whiz with html but that's where it ends.

I'm sure that some substantive guidance by Cepstral (perhaps an actual "how to" or tutorial) would solve this mysterious problem for many independent web developers such as myself who don't have the mental bandwidth to wrap our heads around yet another technology simply to accomplish one simple thing and don't have a budget to hire someone to do so.