help on installation

Voices won't install properly on your system?

help on installation

Postby pooja » Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:00 am

hello
i am using Asterisk. and i am new to cepstral.
help me on installation of Cepstral. plzz give me step by step procedure to install cepstral on Asterisk. and wat do i reqiure for this?
pooja

Postby martinpaul12 » Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:30 am

Hi,
The following assumes you have a working trixbox system already in place with at least one working phone extension.

Step 1 - Reference arrticle:
cd /root
tar -zxvf Cepstral*
cd Cepstral_Allison-8kHz_i386-linux_4.2.1
./install.sh
After you've read the license, type yes to install the voice on your system, not -yes- as the instructions imply. Don't ask how I know. Accept the default locations for the installation. When the installation completes, issue the following command:
echo /opt/swift/lib > /etc/ld.so.conf.d/cepstral.conf
ldconfig
This places the Cepstral_Allison voice in /opt/swift/voices/
You can download other voices from Cepstral
After installing multiple voices, retrieve a list of installed voices with:
ls /opt/swift/voices

Step 2 - Installing apt-swift. There's another important piece in getting Cepstral to play nicely with Asterisk, apt-swift.
Just issue the following commands to install apt-swift on your trixbox system:
cd /usr/src
tar -zxvf app_swift*
rm *.gz
cd app_swift-0.9.1
make
make install
Before proceeding, it is important to note I was unsuccessful at first installing apt-swift per .
I read somewhere but can't remember where a comment stated the need to install asterisk-devel so I issued the following command:
yum install asterisk-devel
This time, the make failed finding no gcc so, I issued:
yum install gcc
Then ran make && make install and apt-swift compiled and installed successfully.